Do you ever get invited to connect on a social network from someone you don’t know? Or maybe the name seems familiar but you can’t quite place how you know the person? If this happens to you, you are not alone.

I get multiple invites to LinkedIn on a weekly basis. Most of them just say “I’d like to add you to my professional network.” Then I get to choose to accept or ignore. What I really want to do is ask more questions. Like:

  1. How do I know you?
  2. Where did we meet?
  3. Are you asking because we are in a shared group or association?

If you are going to ask someone to accept your invitation, please take the extra 30 seconds to modify the standard request. All you have to do it place your cursor at the beginning the “I’d like to add you to my professional network.” and type something along the lines of:

  1. It was great meeting you at the PWN meeting today . . .
  2. I see that we are both in the CR Downtown District association . . .
  3. I attended your “Dump The Frump” class at Kirkwood last week . . .
  4. We used to work together at <name of company> . . .

When I get an invitation like this, I am much more likely to accept the invitation. If not, I just might send someone a link to this post and ask them to re-word their request!

