InStyle Magazine always puts out a BIG issue every September and this year’s volume has 652 pages (I didn’t count them so I’m taking their word for it). This year Jennifer Lopez graces the cover, as she did in 2009. InStyle is fairly devoted to higher fashion or date-night clothes, but I saw several of things that caught my eye in just the first 200 pages. Some of my reflections:

Page 139 White House Black Market Color Block Pencil Skirt ($88), Silvertone Stretch Belt ($58), Ladylike Seasonless Jacket ($148). Love the color blocking and the metal belt to add a bit of edge. The length of the skirt is appropriate (not many in the magazine are). I might disagree with the height of the shoe’s heel and the length of the earrings, but love the overall look.

Page 146 Swarovski Nirvana Cuff: $200. Probably not in my price range, but it did catch my eye. Cuff bracelets are great for work when you want to add a statement without adding a lot of noise. Yes, they may make a bit of noise as the hit the desktop, but it’s usually a one-time noise. Bangles on the other hand make noise every time you move your arm. Way too distracting for the workplace.

Promotional Insert, Ann Taylor Tie Back Sweater ($58). I loved the femininity of the big bow and the hot pink color is very striking. The ad didn’t show the front, but I checked online and it is a jewel neckline. There is a touch of wool for those of you who can’t wear it, but the price is right!

Busted Report: Calvin Klein red dress (approximately page 24) advertises that it is available at Bloomingdale’s and Macy’s. I checked online and didn’t find it on either site. I even went to CalvinKlein.com and couldn’t find it! But if you can find something similar, it’s a great dress: a-line, mock turtleneck, buttons at the shoulder (military style is trendy now) and princes seaming.

Did anything grab your eye?

